The concept of Battle Creek Country Club was formed in March of 1906 at the Athelstan Club in Battle Creek, Michigan, with an initial enrollment of 85 (out of 100 maximum). The following month, the Corey Farm, which was located on West Michigan Avenue, was purchased and became the site of the first golf course and clubhouse. A charming Swiss-design clubhouse was constructed, overlooking the handsome course, where many members refined their taste for country club life.
As the first decade drew to a close and the local population and economy grew, it became clear that the club membership had outgrown its facilities and needed a more sophisticated situation. In August of 1919 the club announced the purchase of the Calmary Farm from C.L. Post, located on beautiful Goguac Lake, for $65,000. The parcel contained a substantial 103 acres, including considerable lake frontage and the lovely summer home of Mr. Post, which would serve temporarily as the new clubhouse.
In October of that first year, the articles of incorporation were signed and the membership was listed at 175 (out of 200 maximum). By a stroke a genius, the world-renowned Scottish golf architect Willie Park, Jr. was commissioned to design the golf course. Incorporating the natural beauty of the area, Mr. Park created a challenging plan for the first nine holes which was completed in 1920, with the second nine completed in 1922.
Through the decades, modifications have been made to the course, successive clubhouses and facilities, as well as the club itself—all part of the evolution toward the goal of excellence.
MISSION STATEMENT It is our commitment at Battle Creek Country Club to provide our members and their guests with superb facilities, a variety of social and recreational activities and a professional staff committed to delivering outstanding service in a relaxed and leisurely atmosphere.
Content copyright . battlecreekcc.com. All rights reserved.